Search Results for: a bright future

Showing 11-20 of 38 results

The New Childhood

The New Childhood

A provocative look at the new, digital landscape of childhood and how to navigate it.

In The New Childhood, Jordan Shapiro provides a hopeful counterpoint to the fearful hand-wringing that has come to define our narrative around children and technology. Drawing on groundbreaking research in economics, psychology, philosophy, and education, The New Childhood shows how technology is guiding humanity toward a bright future in which our children will be able to create new, better models of global citizenship, connection, and community.

Shapiro offers concrete, practical advice on how to parent and educate children effectively in a connected world, and provides tools and techniques for using technology to engage with kids and help them learn and grow. He compares this moment in time to other great technological revolutions in humanity’s past and presents entertaining micro-histories of cultural fixtures: the sandbox, finger painting, the family dinner, and more. But most importantly, The New Childhood paints a timely, inspiring and positive picture of today’s children, recognizing that they are poised to create a progressive, diverse, meaningful, and hyper-connected world that today’s adults can only barely imagine.
The Futures

The Futures

In this dazzling debut novel about love and betrayal, a young couple moves to New York City in search of success-only to learn that the lives they dream of may come with dangerous strings attached.

Julia and Evan fall in love as undergraduates at Yale. For Evan, a scholarship student from a rural Canadian town, Yale is a whole new world, and Julia — blond, beautiful, and rich — fits perfectly into the future he’s envisioned for himself. After graduation, and on the eve of the great financial meltdown of 2008, they move together to New York City, where Evan lands a job at a hedge fund. But Julia, whose privileged upbringing grants her an easy but wholly unsatisfying job with a nonprofit, feels increasingly shut out of Evan’s secretive world.

With the market crashing and banks failing, Evan becomes involved in a high-stakes deal at work — a deal that, despite the assurances of his Machiavellian boss, begins to seem more than slightly suspicious. Meanwhile, Julia reconnects with someone from her past who offers a glimpse of a different kind of live. As the economy craters, and as Evan and Julia spin into their separate orbits, they each find that they are capable of much more — good and bad — than they’d ever imagined.

Rich in suspense and insight, Anna Pitoniak’s gripping debut reveals the fragile yet enduring nature of our connections: to one another and to ourselves. The Futures is a glittering story of a couple coming of age, and a searing portrait of what it’s like to be young and full of hope in New York City, a place that so often seems determined to break us down — but ultimately may be the very thing that saves us.

“The next great New York novel.”-Town & Country

“A story that feels familiar yet wholly original, like every heartbreak ever.”-Marie Claire

“Pitoniak’s precise and incisive powers of observation give us a book with startling grace notes … As in earlier, seminal novels about similar 20-something cohorts-among them Jay McInerney’s Bright Lights, Big City, Bret Easton Ellis’s American Psycho and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar-the city is another mirror character, a puzzle the protagonists must solve as they come to grips with their own lives.”-NPR.org
The Dangerous Hour

The Dangerous Hour

San Francisco’s toughest private eye, Sharon McCone, is back and fighting for her life in Marcia Muller’s acclaimed series.

Sharon McCone’s detective agency is growing and the future is looking bright. But when one of her employees—the streetwise and savvy Julia Rafael—is arrested for stealing a credit card from a client, the entire firm’s reputation could be ruined. Although the evidence against her is strong, Julia swears she’s innocent. And as McCone begins to dig deeper, she discovers that someone is out to destroy everything she’s built. Now it’s her turn to prove just how tough she really is, and how far she’ll go to get justice…and some payback of her own.
The Caveman's Valentine

The Caveman's Valentine

Romulus Ledbetter wasn’t always homeless. He once was a devoted husband, father, and musician with a bright future. He now forages for food in the trash cans of the city’s better neighborhoods and wages a strenuous one-man war against Cornelius Gould Stuyvesant, an evil — and imaginary — power broker who is responsible for society’s ills, as well as the sinister Y- and Z-rays that are corrupting humankind. Then one wintry night, Rom finds a corpse at the mouth of his cave that rouses his well-defined sense of ethics and launches him on an obsessive quest for answers. Forced to reconnect with society, Rom leaves his world and journeys through a spiraling web of clues and hunches, straight into a sinister den of money, temptation, and murder–otherwise known as the “civilized” world.
Sunday Kind of Love

Sunday Kind of Love

Buckton, Indiana, 1956. As post-war America brims with new opportunities, a young woman discovers the courage to follow her dreams-and her heart . . .

Gwendolyn Foster’s life seems like a dream come true. A bright future in front of her, the successful, traditional man her parents wanted at her side. What more could a girl ask for? But Gwen has a different dream altogether-to be a writer-and she won’t rest until it comes true. Strong arms to support her, not own her . . . that’s what she needs. And she finds them in the most unexpected of places.

Hank Ellis has long been haunted by his little brother’s death. He knows the entire town blames him for the accident, but it’s only fitting. He blames himself too. So he’s shocked when Gwen ignores the vicious gossip and befriends him. And before long, everything changes for them. Folks warn Gwen about Hank, but she knows in her heart that they’re wrong. Drawn to this man of bravery and kindness who encourages her to pursue her passions, Gwen can finally envision the life she’s always wanted. And with Gwen, Hank finds the strength to let go of his guilt, as he dares to hope for a future with her.

But braving the town that turns against them isn’t the only challenge they face. For Hank still harbors a dark secret, a shocking truth that may force him to lose Gwen forever . . .
Santa and the Baby

Santa and the Baby

In a rare occurrence, Santa Claus meets the Baby Jesus. The children cheer the two of them. Peace reigns, amid great generosity of spirit and Santa’s despair gives way to bright hope for the future.
Sanctuary Cove

Sanctuary Cove

Perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis and Debbie Macomber, a widow gets a second chance at happy-ever-after in this heart-warming, small-town romance set on a charming coastal island of South Carolina.

Sometimes love is the simplest choice of all.

Still reeling from her husband's untimely death, Deborah Robinson needs a fresh start. So she decides to pack up her family, box up her bookstore, and return to her grandmother's ancestral home on Cavanaugh Island. The charming town of Sanctuary Cove holds happy memories for Deborah. And, after she spies a gorgeous stranger in the local bakery, it promises the possibility for a bright, new future.

Dr. Asa Monroe is at a crossroads. Ever since the loss of his family, he has been on a quest for faith and meaning, traveling from one town to another. When he meets Deborah, the beautiful bookstore owner with the warm eyes and sunny smile, Asa believes he has finally found a reason to stay in one place.

As friendship blossoms into romance, Deborah and Asa discover they may have a second chance at love. But small towns have big secrets. Before they can begin their new life together, the couple must confront a challenge they never expected . . .
Sailing Bright Eternity

Sailing Bright Eternity

This new, special edition of the classic concluding volume of this defining series by the eminent physicist and Nebula Award-winning author contains a teaser chapter from Benford’s, The Sunborn.

The final chapter of humanity’s future has begun, and three men hold the key to survival. As the fierce, artificially intelligent mechs pursue their savage and unstoppable destruction of the human race, it soon becomes apparent that three men-three generations in a family of voyagers-are their targets. Toby Bishop, his father Kileen, and his longdead grandfather each carry a piece of the lethal secret that can destroy their relentless pursuers. There is only one problem: They have no idea they possess the only weapon that can save humanity.
Rule Your Day

Rule Your Day

Rule your day, or your day will rule you!

You would like to savor each moment, grow into your best life, engage in productive relationships, and see your dreams come to pass. But distractions, delays, and disappointments relentlessly hijack your plans and undermine your good intentions. While you can’t control everything that comes your way, you can control how life’s unexpected setbacks affect your attitude, emotions, thoughts, and actions.

In his latest work, #1New York Times bestselling author Joel Osteen shows you how to be intentional and Rule Your Day. With his trademark wisdom and unwavering positivity, Joel reveals six keys for claiming control over each new day. He teaches you how to identify faulty thinking, recast your vision for the future, rise above your circumstances, guard your heart and mind against negativity, and transcend distractions to focus on what matters most.

When you work with the tools God has given you and take control of your time, you can bounce back from disappointments, prevent poisonous thoughts from entering your atmosphere, and fully enjoy the bright future that’s ahead of you. Don’t settle for surviving when you could be thriving—Rule Your Day!
Prescription for the Future

Prescription for the Future

How can America’s healthcare system be transformed to provide consistently higher-quality and lower-cost care? Nothing else in healthcare matters more.

Prescription for the Future identifies some standout medical organizations that have achieved higher-quality, more patient-focused, and lower-cost care, and from their examples distills twelve transformational practices that could transform the entire healthcare sector.

Ezekiel J. Emanuel looks at individual physician practices and organizations who are already successfully driving change, and the specific practices they have instituted. They are not the titans everyone seems to know and assume to be the “best”; instead, Emanuel has chosen a select group — from small physician offices to large multi-specialty group practices, accountable care organizations, and even for-profit companies–that are genuinely transforming care.

Prescription for the Future shines a bright diagnostic light on the state of American healthcare and provides invaluable insights for healthcare workers, investors, and patients. The book gives all of us the tools to recognize the places that will deliver high-quality, effective care when we need it.
Filter by +
  • New Releases
  • Coming Soon
  • A Cavanaugh Island Novel
  • A Deborah Knott Mystery
  • A Sharon McCone Mystery
  • A Tallgrass Novel
  • Cavanaugh Island
  • Deborah Knott
  • Heart Series
  • Paradise
  • The Searchers
  • The Tucker Family Series
  • Children's Books
  • Fiction
  • Mind, Body, Spirit
  • Mystery & Thriller
  • Nonfiction
  • Romance
  • Sci-Fi & Fantasy
  • Teen & Young Adult