Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Short History of England

A Short History of England

The Glorious Story of a Rowdy Nation

An elegant, illustrated introduction to the most colorful moments in English history-for fans of The Crown, Philippa Gregory, or The Longest Day.

The heroes and villains, triumphs and disasters of English history are instantly familiar-from the Norman Conquest to Henry VIII, Queen Victoria to the two world wars. But to understand their full significance we need to know the whole story. A Short History of England sheds new light on all the key individuals and events in English history by bringing them together in an enlightening account of the country’s birth, rise to global prominence, and then partial eclipse. It is the definitive narrative of how today’s England came to be.

With 16 Pages of Glorious, Full-Color Illustrations
Read More

Genre: Nonfiction / History / Europe / Great Britain

On Sale: March 12th 2013

Price: $17.99 / $22.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 336

ISBN-13: 9781610392310

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"Full of good writing and lively anecdote... Simon Jenkins's Short History of England, published in association with the National Trust, is a handsome book whose narrative gains strength as it goes through the Middle Ages and finds itself in the modern period. His account of the 20th century is full of the good judgements one might hope for from such a sensible and readable commentator, and they alone are worth perusing for pleasure and food for thought. Jenkins is especially good at analysing what he sees as the central idea - the balance between royal power and popular consent."—New Statesman
"The book is elevated by the author's engaging writing style, and he does a remarkable job with English royal history from 1066 to 1714, demonstrating how the individual kings and queens fit together into one coherent story; A broad, accessible history for those readers not well versed in English history."—Kirkus Reviews
"Dip into a chapter of an evening and let Jenkins sweep you through England's history, painting a vivid picture of this country's green and pleasant land."—City AM (UK)
Read More Read Less